Almond Bar – Dinner – Darlinghurst

I’ve been wanting to go to this place for quite a while now.

I actually tried not too long ago to get in but was pipped at the last second and ended up at a crap place instead.

But I booked two weeks in advance and got a table for 2 hours for 3 people.

Almond Bar – Darlinghurst

This is a very nice little place, it is small, but feels very cosy and welcoming. It is a Syrian restaurant run by 2 sisters and it’s always very busy.

We come in and the tables are all ready for people, each table has a set of almonds to nibble on once you are seated.

Complimentary almonds @ Almond Bar

Btw, if you’re there, pay attention to the watering jugs as they pour you a drink – it’s deceptively fascinating watching the water pour out – so fascinating that I was too distracted to take a photo. :(

I was a bit parched so I took a gander at their drinks menu and decided I’d be going for the cocktails tonight :D

Delightful – Pomegranate, vodka, rosewater & cranberry $15.50

This was actually, very delightful, it was refreshing and the rosewater was a wonder – the smell & the taste = yum

Mate (herbal tea)

This had a very interesting taste – it wasn’t as bitter as I find other teas. The straw actually has a filter on the end, so no worries about accidentally drinking up all your herbs/leaves.

First up the trio of dips (you select 3 from the various ones available):

Muhamara (red), za’atar & chilli hommus – $18.5

I actually wanted to try the kibbeh nayeh (raw minced lamb, burghul & spices) but that is only available on the weekends :(

Oh well, I guess I’ll have to come back on a weekend to try it. :D

The dips also came with things to dip with:

Pita bread, deep fried pita bread, carrots & celery (yuck!) and olive oil for the za’atar – included with dips

These were all so yummy. To eat the za’atar, dip your pita bread into the olive oil to moisten, then dip into za’atar – the moist bread will pick up the dry spices. My dining companion actually dipped his bread into the other dips & used the moisture from that to dip into the za’atar – he said it still tasted good. :)

Sweet Monk – $14 (drink #2 for me)

Frangelico, vodka, white creme de cacao & a sweet homemade syrup.

Toum bread (pita with creamy garlic) – $6

This some pretty awesome garlic bread, it was somehow soft on the top & crunchy on the bottom with a lovely garlic flavour.

Baladieh salad (baladieh cheese, roasted almonds, tomato, parsley & chickpeas) – $13.50

This was really good, the cheese reminded me a bit of haloumi/feta cheese – the salad was very nice with a lovely dressing.

Orange Cin – $16

I like the cocktails here – they do them well – this one wasn’t mine though, a dining companion decided to join in the cocktail fun. Orange pieces, vodka, cinnamon liqueur & Cointreau.

Mukloubi with chicken – $17

layers of spiced up rice, eggplant & pieces of chicken topped with a fantastic homemade yoghurt & topped with nuts – this was my fave dish of the night – the yoghurt was wonderful. But now it’s time for dessert after another drink though :D

Appletini – $14.50 (drink #3 for me)

In the tv show scrubs, JD always gets an appletini so I thought I’d try one with dessert – it is very fruity and doesn’t taste like alcohol – vodka & apple schnapps with apple juice.

Atayef – $10

This was the more “savoury” start to our desserts. Buffalo milk cheese inside a pancake drizzled with sugar syrup & dusted with nuts. Mmm…

Lady’s arm – $12.50

They’re normally smaller & called lady fingers but I can see why they called these arms. This was intensely sweet – to the dislike of one of my dining companions but the pastry was crisp and I thought the ricotta inside offset the intense sweetness.

And finally, the showcase dessert:

Rosewater ice cream – $9

This was wonderful – it tasted a bit like musk sticks but in ice cream form. Definitely my favourite dessert.

Finally, the bill with complimentary chocolate almonds

The good – everything – service was great, cocktails great and food awesome.

The mediocre – umm… can’t really think of anything, the table was a bit narrow? Clutching at straws here.

The bad – nothing to see here

Details:

Almond Bar

379 Liverpool St Darlinghurst NSW 2010

Phone: (02) 9380 5318 (Bookings highly recommended)

http://www.almondbar.com.au/

Almond Bar on Urbanspoon

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

