RECIPE – Bagelicious – home made bagels

Some things you look at and go…nah, too hard. I thought bagels would be a pain to make, what with the boiling & the ovenising, etc.

Turns out, it’s a breeze – took me a little bit of time but it was well worth the effort. Try it, if you’ve got a lazy Saturday/Sunday to spare.

I really love Montreal style bagels – but this is a recipe for normal bagels – I may try Montreal bagels a different time.

Ingredients:

– 4 cups flour (I used half wholemeal & half plain but just use what you have on hand – I also decided to sift flour)

– 1 tablespoon sugar

– 1 teaspoon salt

– 1 tablespoon oil (I had olive oil around, but I’m sure vegetable oil would be fine too)

– 2 teaspoons instant dried yeast

– warm water (start with 1 cup & see if you need more, wholemeal is a bit thirstier so I ended up using 1.75 cups approx)

– optional topping (sesame seeds, poppy seeds, whatever)

The methodolgy/procedures/to do list:

Cooking for me is not an exact science, once things come together, I reckon that’s good enough.

Anyway, mix everything together (except topping) until you have dough. If it’s too watery, add flour; if it’s not coming together, add water.

Note: If you’re not using istant yeast, soak yeast in warm water with sugar until it bubbles, then mix all the ingredients together (or read what packet says & do that).

Knead dough for about 10 mins or until it’s smooth (about 10 mins). Cut into 8 equal parts, roll 8 parts into balls, cover & leave to rest for about 20-30 mins. I made my bagels on a cold day so it took about 30 mins for before I saw some growing action.

Once you’ve got some growth, it’s time to shape the bagels!

Take a ball, roll it out into a snake, then wrap the snake around your hand (around palm & knuckles) with the ends overlapping and start rolling the ends together until it joins. Repeat x7.

Alternatively, poke a hole into your ball & slowly stretch & roll the inside until you get your classic bagel shape.

Leave bagel shaped dough things to rest again for another 20-30 mins.

Preheat the oven to 220C and start boiling water in a large pot. Once pot has boiled, it’s time to add the bagels. I could only fit 2 bagels in my pot at one time but if you have a pot with a wider radius, use that.

I gently eased 2 bagels into the boiling water (this is also a good time to make sure they’re nice, round & bagelly looking before you put them in), boiled 1.5 mins, flipped, then another 1.5 mins. They tend to grow in the pot so make sure you don’t crowd them when you boil it – otherwise it will be wonky-shaped like mine.

If you’re using a topping, now is the time to add it to the bagels.

Get a plate and put in a layer of your topping – in my case, sesame seeds. Once you take the bagel out of the boiling water, place it on the sesame seed plate & press so that the topping digs in a little.

Afterwards, place the bagel on a greased tray (or on baking paper) ready for the oven. If you’re using baking paper, make sure all of your bagel is on the paper – With my oven, grills were burnt on the areas the bagel was off the baking paper (oops).

I stuck it in the oven about 15, then flipped it upside down and let it go for another 15 – that’s my oven though, yours may be different. I thought the outside still wasn’t crisp enough so I flipped it again (back to right side up) and left it in until the top was hard & crunchy.

I like my bagels warm, so I got out the cream cheese & smoked salmon and had a feast on after it was cool enough to handle.

You can freeze/fridge the bagels, just cut them in half & stick them in toaster to reheat.

The re-hash:

Pot was too small – when the bagels grew, the had no space & pushed at each other which gave me oblong bagels

Grill marks – the bagel parts that were exposed to direct heat from underneath from my oven got brown rather quickly and I had to reshuffle them – they also ended up with grill marks on their bottom.

The outcome:

Truly awesome bagels, I could just sit there and eat one plain (but I had cream cheese & salmon so why would i?). Housemates also raved about it – they were delish bagels.

It’s so hard to find good bagels in Sydney, the ones at the supermarket are crap – hard, dry, bleh; the only way I can get a good bagel is if I make it – oh how I wish I was back in Montreal/New York having a bagel *sigh*

Leave a Reply

