RECIPE – Tiramisu (“Pick me up”)

“pick me up”, I sure will Tiramisu

Italian food is my passion, one of my first forays into cooking when younger was the making of tiramisu. When I first attempted it, I made it more mocha than coffee because I wasn’t at an age where I liked coffee. It’s very easy to make.

Now is a different story. 😀

Ingredients:

  • 250g marscapone cheese
  • 1.5 tbsp icing sugar (sifted)
  • 150ml coffee (or in my case 4x short blacks from a nearby cafe)
  • 300ml double cream
  • 4 tablespoons liqueur – usually coffee liqueur
  • Approx 200g sponge finger biscuits aka savoiardi aka ladyfingers
  • cocoa for dusting
  • dark chocolate for decoration
  • fruit/berries for decoration

My comments:

  • Coffee – I don’t have a coffee maker so I went to the closest cafe with my measuring cup & bought a few short blacks…weird, yes
  • Liqueur – I used Amarula which I got on my trip to Africa, it’s sort of like an exotic Baileys. You’re free to use Kahlua/Baileys/Frangelico/mixture of liqueurs for yours. You don’t even have to use liqueur – just replace with espresso if you want to omit it

Method:

  1. Rub some oil on the inside of a container (you can use loaf tin/tupperware/whatever you have on hand) & lay plastic wrap around the inside – the oil will help it “stick” to the sides
  2. In a large bowl, mix in marscapone & icing sugar – make sure it’s mixed through & smooth – I like using a spatula
  3. Add 2x tablespoons of espresso to the marscapone mix
  4. In another bowl, whisk the double cream & 2x tablespoons of liqueur until it has thickened slightly (but is not whipped cream texture)
  5. Put 1x tablespoon of the double cream mixture in with the marscapone mixture & mix it through
  6. Fold in the rest of the double cream mixture into the marscapone mixture
  7. Put a layer of the cream mixture into your mould – this is going to be the top of your tiramisu
  8. Add the rest of the liqueur into the unused espresso & put it in a plate with edges/shallow bowl
  9. Dip & roll a sponge finger biscuit in the coffee mixture, then layer into your tiramisu mould – you don’t want to soak it in liquid otherwise it’ll become too soggy – 2 seconds for each side should do it
  10. Add another layer of cream on top
  11. Then another layer of sponge fingers dipped in the coffee mixture
  12. I did a 3rd layer because my container was short & deep, rather than thin & long
  13. When you’re done, cover it all in gladwrap & stick it in fridge for 4 hours
  14. > 4 hours, turn it out onto a plate & it’s time to decorate – how you decorate is up to you
  15. I cut away some of the cream so the biscuits were showing & roughend the top – I prefer the look
  16. Dust over some cocoa
  17. Make chocolate shavings by either, getting a chocolate block & using a veggie peeler to make swirls or with the back of a knife, scrape the block of chocolate to make shavings
  18. Add some fruit or, in my case, pieces of chocolate to decorate & voila!

Mmm… tiramisu

Wonderful taste – love it. Easy recipe, doesn’t take too long besides the refrigeration & best of all (in my opinion) doesn’t use raw eggs. When I was younger, the thought of eating raw egg whites was a major turn-off.

Looks good, tastes great! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

