Lucio Pizzeria – Dinner – Darlinghurst

Oh wow! This pizza was absolutely fantastic – I can’t wait to go back again. I wasn’t sure I was at the right place, there was a courtyard with several restaurants connected together, but a glance to the open glass door read Lucio Pizzeria backwards, so we had finally found it.

This place normally gets pretty packed, especially Fri & weekends but it’s also busy Thursday nights as well.

This is a combo of 2 times that I’ve been to Lucio’s. One time was a Thursday around 9pm after I had just been doing some sports so my dining companion and I were in our *cough* trakkie daks *cough*. The second time was first thing as it opened at 6pm on a Fri night – it filled up pretty quickly but not to the point of people hovering around uncomfortably waiting. Great pizza – well worth a trip.

Lucio’s on the far left

Antipasto Misto – Platter for 2 – $26

What a way to start the meal – this was mouth-wateringly good.

  • Freshly baked bread sticks, hot from the pizza oven;
  • Prosciutto wrapped melons;
  • Mini arancini (risotto balls, crumbed & deep fried);
  • Potato croquettes with buffalo mozzarella inside;
  • Deep fried dough with tomato sauce & parmesen cheese
  • Marinated grilled eggplant & pumpkin
  • Marinated zucchini
  • Olive, red capsicum & capers mixture
  • And last, but not least, a bowl of various pitted & unpitted olives

View from the other side of the platter

The meals are elevated on a little metal “table” in the middle of our table to make sharing a breeze.

Menabrea Birra – an Italian lager – $8

This was a light & refreshing lager to start the night. They also have other non-italian beers available as well as a wine list (no BYO).

Campagnola pizza – mushrooms, stracchino cheese and sausage – $22

This pizza blew me away, it didn’t king hit me, but there was a variety of subtle flavours that kept me coming back for bite after bite. And the cheese was fantastic – it had a slightly nutty, buttery taste and was absolutely wonderful.

Sometimes the simplest things are best, mmm…Pizza

The flavours just went so well together, this was the best pizza eva. Have had a few other pizzas since then, but you always remember your first Lucio’s and this blew me away.

Capricciosa – tomato, mozzarella, mushroom, ham, artichokes & olives – $19

Filetto – Mozzarella, cherry tomato, rocket, prosciutto & shaved parmesan – $21

Tronchetto – provola, swiss, fontina, rocket & prosciutto – $22

Bufalina – buffalo mozzarella, parmesan & tomato – $22

All these pizzas were brilliant, love Lucios, also tried their Lucio pizza – Half margerhita & half calzone with ricotta, mozzarella & hand – $20 but didn’t have a pic for this.

Whenever a place has fantastic food, no matter how full I am, I also like to have a go at their dessert as well – having had a great experience so far, I couldn’t wait for the dessert menu.

Vanilla pannacotta with strawberry coolie – $9.50

This was enjoyed by my dining companion – his review is “it tastes good?”. I did try a bit, but I was much too excited about my affogato to pay attention to his dessert.

Affogato – shot of espresso, frangelico & a serving of vanilla bean ice cream – $9.50

I had seen a few of these go by as I savoured my pizza, but enough was enough, now it was my time to enjoy my affogato. The aroma of the fresh coffee, the allure of the frangelico, the flecks of vanilla seeds in the ice cream all added to one phenomenal package.

Tiramisu – $10.50

Great stuff & not too creamy with a hint of alcohol.

Dessert special – dark chocolate tarte laced with cointreau with hazelnut – $10

*sigh* I want to go there…

Lucio’s does NOT do bookings, so first in, best dressed. They’re closed Tuesdays and open all other days 6pm – 10pm.

Details:

Lucio Pizzeria

248 Palmer St

Darlinghurst NSW 2010

Phone: (02) 9332-3766

http://www.luciopizzeria.com.au/

Lucio Pizzeria on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

