RECIPE – Quesadillas (My Way)

I think of it more like a grilled cheese sandwiche using tortillas (and with salsa/guacamole and/or sour cream to accompany).

My vegetarian quesadillas topped with home-made guacamole & sour cream

You can put whatever you like in a quesadilla. I once said to some friends, so long as I have tortillas, coriander, cheese & spring onion, a quesadilla can be made. This can be had plain, or with guacamole/salsa/sour cream and it’s still brilliant.

Instead they had some shredded cheese & lebanese bread so I raided their fridge/pantry for other things & still managed to make something yummy.

Ingredients:

  • Quesadilla filling (filling can be whatever you want, I used onions, mushrooms, capsicum, olives & jalapenos)
  • Tortillas
  • Shredded cheese (parmesan, chedder, swiss, whatever your preference)
  • Chopped coriander
  • Chopped spring onions

Guacamole

  • Ripe avocados
  • Diced tomatoes
  • Chopped coriander
  • Chopped onion/spring onion
  • Squeeze of lime
  • Salt & pepper

Method:

  1. Prep your ingredients, I sliced my onions, capsicum & chopped my coriander
  2. I like my mushrooms & onions sautéed & my capsicum crisp so I threw my ‘shooms & onions into the pan – giant mushrooms were on sale when I made these
  3. Once whatever you want to be cooked is cooked, you’re ready to go. You really can put anything you want, sliced chicken/beef/etc, sausages, sundried tomatoes – if it can go in a sandwiche, it can go in a quesadilla

Assembling:

  1. I used mountain corn bread instead of tortillas coz I like to change it up every now and then
  2. Put down a layer of cheese – I couldn’t find my cheese grater so I was slicing my cheese with a knife – time consuming
  3. Put in your layers of filling
  4. Add your coriander, spring onion & another layer of cheese
  5. Fold it in half & stick it in a medium pan to brown each side & melt the cheese. You can also use an oven/grill for this – just note that the corners tend to turn up
  6. Flip over & cook the other side
  7. Plate up, add a dollop of homemade guacamole (recipe below), sour cream and/or salsa.

Guacamole Method:

  1. Use a fork to mush up the avocado, add diced tomatoes, coriander & onion/spring onion & mix. Add lime juice & salt & pepper to taste

Recipe is easy as pie (never made a pie, so couldn’t really tell you if that were true) and takes as long/short as you want depending on your quesadilla ingredients. If it’s all foods that do not require preparation, it can be done in a jiff.

Very yummy & filling/tortillas by themselves are yummy to eat.

Makes a good finger food for pot luck also, just cut it into wedges & have tubs of dips.

Hope you enjoy!

😀

2 Responses to “RECIPE – Quesadillas (My Way)”

  1. All I can say is that this is yummy!

  2. This sounds like a fun and comfort food. It sounds so yummy 🙂

Leave a Reply

