RECIPE – Tetsuya’s Confit of Ocean Trout

Yes, I know, it’s been an age since I’ve been posting anything.

Many, many, many years ago, I tried out Tetsuya’s restaurant in Sydney. It was my first fine dining experience and it was thoroughly enjoyable, opening my eyes to the possibilities of what could be done with some fine ingredients.

Not too long ago, I ended up at Tetsuya’s Singaporean effort, Waku Ghin, and that was mind-blowing.

But I digress, the reason why I’m posting is because I decided to attempt to make Tetsuya’s signature dish – the confit of ocean trout.

The recipe can be found here:

troutMy attempt v My experience at Tetsuya’s restaurant

Obviously, my fillet is a smidgeon bigger – but that’s because this was to be an actual meal for dinner, not part 1 of a 13 course degustation.

Ingredients:

  • Trout – skinned & filleted SAM_0094a
  • 100 ml grapeseed oil
  • 80 ml olive oil
  • 1/2 tablespoon ground coriander
  • 1/2 teaspoon white pepper
  • 5 whole basil leaves
  • 3 stalks thyme
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 2 stalks celery, finely chopped
  • 2 small carrots, finely chopped
  • 3 tablespoons finely chopped chives
  • 4 tablespoons konbu (dried seaweed), finely chopped (My comment: Mine was chunky, but I did the best I could do manually) SAM_0100
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 bulb fennel, shaved (My comment: I finely slice it instead)
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil

Note: I forgot to make the parsley oil so I garnished with a parsley leaf salmon roe (I couldn’t find any trout roe – but I didn’t try very hard to find it)SAM_0103

Method:

  1. Well, this is the first time I’ve ever filleted a fish – you can google how to do it properly because my expertise is very, very limited
  2. Add everything from the oil to garlic into a shallow vessel & add the trout filletsSAM_0098
  3. Cover with clingwrap & refrigerate for 3 hours (or overnight)
  4. Take out your trout & let it come to room temperature
  5. Pre-heat your oven to the lowest setting & lay your trout on top of the diced carrots & celery SAM_0101
  6. Stick it in the oven until the flesh feels lukewarm – paint the surface with the oil mixture every few mins, then let cool.
  7. Fennel salad – toss the fennel with lemon juice & season with salt & pepper & lay the fennel in the middle of the plate
  8. Sprinkle the top of your trout with salt, konbu & chives, then lay it on top of your fennelSAM_0108
  9. Dot with caviar & serve

SAM_0110Actually, a very, very simple dish to make.

Obviously, entirely lacking in the finesse of Tetsuya and I’d say probably 35% as tasty as his was but still good.

Leave a Reply

